MSIF: Profile of the Month September 2010

Publié le par Handi@dy

"barre google de traduction!

Karen Jackson

Karen Jackson

Name: Karen Jackson
Country: USA
Occupation: Athletics trainer
Age: 49
Year of Diagnosis: 1996
Type of MS: Primary progressive


My name is Karen and I live in Fort Washington, Maryland, in the USA.

I studied kinesiology (the science of human movement) and worked as an athletic trainer for over fifteen years. I worked both in a clinical setting – in an orthopaedic surgeons practice – and in the field, working directly with high school athletes.

In 1994, my left leg began to drag and to hyperextend and in 1996, I was officially diagnosed with MS.

At first the MS symptoms were transient, so I was able to keep working. Then my MS began to progress, and my mobility difficulties became more severe. I started to use a cane for walking. In 2002 when I was no longer able to run out onto the field quickly to assist injured athletes, I knew that for my students’ safety as well as my own, I could no longer continue working in the traditional role as an athletic trainer.

How did you decide how to change jobs?

The National Capital Chapter of the US National MS Society was a great source of help and support. The Chapter has an employment program called ‘Operation Job Match’, which aims to help people with MS and other physical disabilities to make career decisions. I met with Steve Nissen, who runs the program; he gave me some useful guidance and helped me to reassess my skills, abilities and interests. I recently took part in a series of teleconferences that the Chapter ran every Thursday for eight weeks, in which we explored different employment options.

The National Capital Chapter really is an amazing source of information and support to people living with MS in the Washington, DC metropolitan area. And as some of their programmes are available on DVD or through teleconferences, they are accessible to people whose Chapters don’t have those resources, access or who are more isolated.

I was fortunate to be able to transfer my skills to another role. I now work as administrative assistant and office manager for an orthopaedic surgeon – so I am using my experience and knowledge of orthopaedics and sports injuries, but in a job which is much less physically demanding than before. I also work from home regularly to help minimise fatigue. I am blessed that my employer knew about my MS before he hired me and it was not a problem. I intend to keep working as long as I can.

What advice you would give other people about living with MS?

We all have our challenges in life. MS is a challenge but the real challenge is how we choose to respond to the obstacles presented. I find the worst thing about MS for me is the loss of spontaneity. Every detail of my day now has to be planned in advance.

I try to live my life by the following commentary by Hillel from Pirkei Avot, a book of Jewish teaching: "If I am not for myself, who will be? If I am only for myself, what am I? And if not now, when?"

Karen Jackson at the Capitol

Karen welcomes walkers who had completed a three-day challenge walk for"

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article
T
<br /> <br /> salut<br /> <br /> <br /> aujourd'hui c'était la grève<br /> <br /> <br /> ben il y avait du monde<br /> <br /> <br /> bonne soirée<br /> <br /> <br /> <br />
Répondre
H
<br /> <br /> Oui, mais il faudrait une révolution!!! :0010:<br /> <br /> <br /> <br />